Jet ski rules
Before you head out on the lake with a jet ski from Boardwalk Marina, there a few rules of the water you should know. We’ve gathered a few of the most
common questions people have about renting jet skis.
What laws are jet skis or personal watercrafts subject to?
In Idaho, personal watercraft (or PWC) are subject to the same laws as motorboats in regards to operation and handling.
What are the life jacket laws?
Life jackets must be worn at all times while the jet ski is in use. The law states that when using a motorized boat, which includes jet skis, life
jackets must be “readily accessible.” Because there is nowhere to safely store a life jacket on a jet ski, this means the life jacket must be worn at all times by both driver and passenger when the PWC is underway.
What do I have to do before I rent a jet ski?
In Idaho, the law requires anyone who is renting a jet ski to receive educational information from the entity renting the jet ski – that’s us! We’ll tell you more about this when you rent a jet ski from Resort Boat Rentals.
What about no wake zones?
There is a state-wide no wake zone, so slow to 5 miles per hour whenever you’re riding within 200 feet of a dock, boat, structure or person on a lake and 100′ on rivers.
What is the right of way laws?
Jet skis and PWCs should yield to all other boaters and skiers.
Are there speed limits on Lake Coeur d’Alene?
According to laws in Kootenai County, where Resort Boat Rentals is located, the speed limit for jet skis is 50 miles per hour during the day, and 20 mph at night.
Do you have additional questions about laws that govern jet skis in North Idaho? Contact our team or stop by our location on beautiful Lake Coeur d’Alene.